Road Trip Adventure Day 1 thru Day 3

Standard

So it has been week 1 of Andrew being in San Diego for his internship.  This week has been pretty ruff without him but I hope that it gets better from here.  I am trying to stay as busy as possible so I do not have enough time to mope that he is not here :(.

Anyways enough of my sob story, here is the journal I was keeping while on our road trip from Raleigh, NC to Chula Vista, CA.  I would write a daily entry  everyday on our trip.  This helped the 12 hour day drives go a little faster.

Day 1                             Starting off the New Year with an adventure

Started off with us barely making it to the first gas station out of Raleigh haha.  When I turned on the car it was already on Empty…freaked me out pretty bad because I have run out of gas before trying to get to a gas station this low….but we made it J (Andrew added that in).

My collection of drinks for day one....I still had that damn cough going on

My collection of drinks for day one….I still had that damn cough going on

Then about 2 hours into the trip the tape deck that we are using to play our iPod music through got stuck.  We were both freaking out… listening to our choice of music make the drive so much better.  So we pulled over and banged on the radio for about 10 mins before it finally popped out.  HALELLUJA!

It rained the ENTIRE way to Nashville.  But it cleared up just as we were pulling into Nashville, TN.  We stayed in a very cheap hotel I found off Expedia, called Knights Inn.  We are both pretty sure there was a drug deal going on when we pulled up to our room :/.  We slept with one of Andrew’s golf clubs in our room that night.

Downtown Nashville

Downtown Nashville

I had been to Nashville a few times before with my family so I was more excited about showing Andrew around then anything else.

We had dinner at Big River Restaurant in the Historic part of Nashville.  It was really cool because they only serve their locally brewed beers.  I went with the Beer Sampler and Fish Tacos.  Everything was delicious….except the IPA and their light beer sample.  Andrew got their Barbeque Bacon Cheeseburger with a Sweet Magnolia beer (award winner).  We left Big River with very satisfied stomachs and on the look for a cool bar to listen to some local music.

Personal Beer Tasting :)

Personal Beer Tasting 🙂

We walked around the historic downtown streets for a little while before we decided on a Honky Tonk Bar.  It was just a little hole in the wall bar, but those are always the best.  The band was playing old country and bluegrass music.  Andrew is not usually a country music fan but he really enjoyed it.

Andrew can only handle so much country accents and cowboy boots so after our beers we headed back to our classy hotel.

Day 2                     “Meet me in St. Louis”

We both woke up pretty early in Nashville and I was ready to get out of that hotel room ASAP.  We hit up the complimentary breakfast, which was just waffles and cereal before we hit the road.  St. Louis, MO was our destination to stay with our friend Jordan.  Andrew and Jordan played soccer in college together at Winthrop University.

The sun was shining bright for this drive.  We saw our first snow of 2013 in Illinois.  I was way too excited probably, I kept trying to jump in it but since it was so cold it was more like a sheet of ice.

SNOW!

SNOW!

We found a Cut-out of superman at a random rest stop in Illinois.  A fun unexpected find.

Super Jay!

Super Jay!

sm a

haha

Our fist stop in St. Louis was a little sports bar called Port’s.  We treated ourselves to the locally brewed beer, Schlafly, while we waited on our friend, Jordan, to get off work.

Schlafly beer

Once we got to Jordan’s house I decided to do one of my Beach Body Turbo videos since I had not worked out in a couple of days.  It felt good to get a quick workout in.

Jordan was a great tour guide! He took us to Anheuser Busch first; we took a tour, tried some beers that they brew, and checked out the Clydesdale Horses.

Anheuser Busch Car

Anheuser Busch Car

We attempted to go up The Arch next but it had already closed by the time we got there.  We headed to the famous Blueberry Hill Restaurant for dinner instead.  It was a unique place; they had a ton of action figures from Pee Wee to N’sync.  The walls had pictures of all the celebrities who had visited Blueberry Hill over the years too which was cool to see.  By the time we had finished dinner and gotten back to his place I was exhausted.

Darts at Blueberry Hill

Darts at Blueberry Hill

St. Louis Sunset

St. Louis Sunset

Day 3                 “I have a feeling we are not in Kansas anymore”

We left St. Louis by 7:30am en route for Denver, CO.  We were not looking forward to this days drive because it would be a 12 hour drive through boring Kansas.  There were not many eventful things on the drive.  I learned that Kansas is pretty opinionated with their billboards.  Some of the best ones read: “Smile, your mom chose life”,  “Abortion Kills Gods Creation”, “Adoption, not abortion”, and they just keep getting better from there.  We did see some HUGE windmills.  They looked terrestrial to me because of their size, location, and amount.

Sorry I think these pictures were taken on Andrews phone.

We made it into Denver, CO around 730pm.  I was so ready to get out of the car after our 12 hr and 30min drive for the day and I started getting car sick the last hour.

We were greeted by my long life friend, Maren.  We have known each other for as long as I can remember.  We grew up together in the same neighborohood and swam every summer at Sedgefield Swim & Racquet Club.  She has been living in Denver now with her boyfriend, Jesse, for almost a year.

We all went out for dinner at a cool local bar/restaurant called Guvnahs just a few blocks from her place.  It was nice to walk there because I was dead set on not getting back in the car till the next day haha.

Guvnahs food was nothing to brag about but their drink specials were.  We all started off the $3.50 LIT’s and then they had a buy one get one free beer deal going on so we all hit that deal up after we ate.

After dinner we walked back to Maren and Jesse’s apartment and chilled before passing out…..we may or may not have taken advantage of the the smoking law. 😉

To Be Continued…….

Leave a Reply

