“Between the Raindrops”

Standard

You all probably have not been aware of this but I have been taking a little break from training/running.   I was getting burnt out so I started mixing things up and started doing insanity…again.  If you do not know what insanity is check out my previous blog here.

I have been running about 3-5 miles on one day and doing insanity the next.  I stopped doing long runs on the weekend too.  However, I am out of my slump now and I am ready to jump back into it and begin training for my first full marathon!!  I am looking for one to do in June/July.  Does anyone have any suggestions??

*******************************************

Have you ever found a song that hits you deep and gives you the goose bumps?  Like the song hits an emotional nerve in your body.  I do not know how to explain it but it has happened to me with a few songs.  Adele, Florence and the Machine, Ewan McGregor (from Moulon Rouge), are just a few of the artist.

My newest song that it happened with is by Lifehouse ft. Natasha Bedingfield – Between the raindrops.  It is their newest single and I am obsessed…. I will play this song over and over again till I can sing it by myself.

“Right here and now
the way it was meant to be
there’s a smile on my face
knowing that together everything that’s in our way
Were better than alright”

On Mondays run I got that goose bump feeling and felt like I could run forever and as fast as light.  It was ironic because it started to drizzle while I was listening to the song and it gave me goose bumps all over again.

Let me set the picture for you…. I am running on some of my favorite back roads with no traffic,  I am running in the middle of the road, the sun is peeping over the clouds, the temperature is perfect, my headphones are blaring, and then it begins to drizzle during a song that is talking about walking between raindrops with your love, chasing dreams together, and knowing that whatever happens yall will be alright together.  Goose bumps!

The moment/the song made me feel so lucky and alive …. To have an amazing family, a boyfriend who adores me and that I love unconditionally, an amazing/fluffiest dog, great friends, an incredibly job, etc.  This moment made me look back at my past, present, and future and allowed me to realize how lucky I am to have the life I live. Do you ever have moments like this where you feel so alive?

I am not trying to brag or anything.  I just believe that everyone should have these moments every now and then. Especially after the horrific events that occurred at Sandy Hook Elementary.  Life is so fragile and we are all so busy with our daily lives that we do not always sit back and reflect on all the amazing things we have right in front of us or the fantastic things that are about to come or the beautiful things we have already experienced.

This is why I love running because it is my reflection time.  If it is not running for you then find something else that allows you to relax with your thoughts.

Your Goal for the Day…

Find time for yourself and tell me about something that makes you feel the same way I did.

 

P.S.

Word on the street is that Friday at 9:30 AM EST there is going to be a National Day of Silence for the Sandy Hook victims. I’m not sure if this is ‘official’ yet or not, but I plan on participating regardless. You should too.

Leave a Reply

