Portabella Pizza Bites

Standard

Happy Thursday Everyone!  I hope your day is going great so far 🙂

So Andrew and I have our half marathon next weekend.  I can not believe it is almost here :).  I am so excited/anxious/nervous!  I am trying to take it easy from now till the race so today I decided on a 3 mile run.  I did my first 2 with Chewbacca and he did great!  He was so worn out by the end of it that he didn’t even want to stand up to drink his water.  He just layed down in front of it to drink haha.

Since I have the 5K Sunday morning I was anxious to see how fast I could run it in.  After I dropped Chewbacca off at the apartment I decided to see how fast I could run a mile.  I did it in 7 mins 23 secs.  I am hoping that I can keep this pace for the 3 miles on Sunday.

Chewbacca loves to give me kisses when I get back from my runs/lick my sweat..

For Breakfast I made my Chi Chi Chi Chia Seed Pudding but this time I added 1/4 cup of pumpkin puree into the mixer.  It was delicious!

So I made the Portabella Pizza Bites today for lunch and I remembered to take some pictures this time.  This is a great recipe and I hope you decide to try them and enjoy them as much as I do.

Portabella Pizza Bites

2 large Portabella Mushrooms

1/3 cup diced Tomatoes (italian style)

2 tbsp Egg whites

2 tbsp Mozzarella Cheese

6 low sodium Pepperoni’s

Preheat the oven to 400 F.  Clean out the stem and the inside of the mushrooms.  Clean off any dust or just wipe the mushrooms down.  I do not recommend washing them under running water because mushrooms absorb water like a sponge and they will turn out soggy.  Place your mushrooms on a cooking sheet and bake in the oven for 7 minutes.  While the mushrooms are cooking you can start making your filling.  Mix together your egg white, diced tomatoes, and cheese.

After your 7 minutes is up, remove your mushrooms and switch the oven to broil (high).  Dab the mushrooms with a paper towel if your mushrooms have moisture coming out of them.  Then fill your mushrooms up with your filling you made and place 3 pepperonis on top of each mushroom.   Place your mushrooms back in the oven for 4 minutes or until the cheese and egg are melted/cooked.  ENJOY!

I left mine in a little too long and burnt my pepperoni’s 😦 …still delicious though!

I can not wait to eat these later 🙂

I hope you have a great day!  Just one more day till the weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

