Therapeutic Running

Standard

Yesterday morning I went to a Hot Yoga class.  It was Black Opal that morning and this is my favorite class so far.  It was a flow/vinyasa class and we practiced to fun music and were challenged to try it all.  I enjoyed how this class challenged me to really push myself and see how deep I can go in the moves we practiced.

After the class I realized that I REALLY needed to clean my yoga mat.  It was starting to smell :/ .  So when I got home I laid my yoga mat out to wipe it down with dish soap and water.  When I got back from the bathroom with my wash cloth Chewbacca decided he wanted to try out his yoga moves….Downward facing Chewbacca.  haha

“Just trying out my Yoga Moves Mommy”

I felt like I needed to do a little more yesterday since I had not workout for previous 2 days.  It felt amazing outside yesterday morning so Chewbacca and I went on a 2 mile run.  About an hour after our run Chewbacca was ready to go back out AGAIN and play.  This time I took him to the dog park in hopes that he could have a play date.  There was a black Chow Chow, Bear, out today in the park.  It was so cool seeing them play together.  I am sorry but I did not take my camera with me so I didn’t get any pictures of the 2 of them playing together.

The rest of my day yesterday went like any other…work then bed.

Today I did my long run since I did not do one last weekend.  I ran 11 miles in 1 hour 38 minutes, thats a pace of 8:54 a mile.  Not my best pace ever but at least I did it :).  And once again it was perfect running weather today.

Chewbacca wanted to be in the picture

This was more a therapeutic run for me today.  I like to use my runs to think over things that is going on in my life at the time.  Any problem or worries I have had the past week I was thinking over it one last time and then just dropping it and leaving it behind me. I had a visual in my head while I was running that I was literally dropping each issue on the street and leaving it behind me…..I know that sounds a little weird…do you do anything like that?  It was a new day, a beautiful day and I wanted to started it off fresh with nothing going on in the back of my head and nothing weighing on my shoulders.

This is just another reason, on my long list, of why I LOVE running.  Running is my own personal therapist.

Here is a quote that I find so true:

“We run, not because we think it is doing us good, but because we enjoy it and cannot help ourselves…The more restricted our society and work become, the more necessary it will be to find some outlet for this craving for freedom. No one can say, ‘You must not run faster than this, or jump higher than that.’ The human spirit is indomitable.”
-Sir Roger Bannister, first runner to run a sub-4 minute mile

 

Have a great Day Everyone! 🙂

One response »

Leave a Reply

