Beat Boredom Interval Treadmill Workout & Core Workout with Weights

Standard

The weather is starting to change now and fall is coming! I am super excited about this because fall is my favorite time of the year…the leaves start the change, the temperature feels amazing outside (perfect for running outside), Halloween (my favorite holiday), and my birthday (Oct. 25th) is in the fall.  The only bad thing about the weather changing is my allergies 😦 …..Do your allergies act up when the weather changes every season?  

I have been struggling with a running nose and sneezing the last few days so to give my sinuses a break I decided to do my workout in the gym today.  I HATE running on the treadmill especially when it is such a beautiful day but it was worth it.  I always get so bored on the treadmill, so I made up an interval workout to try and beat the boredom.

I warmed up by running with Chewbacca for about 7 mins.

Beat Boredom Interval Treadmill Workout

Time (mins)

Speed

0-5

5.0

5-8

6.0

8-9

7.0

9-12

6.0

12-13

7.5

13-16

6.0

16-17

8.0

17-20

6.0

20-21

8.5

21-24

6.0

24-25

9.0

25-28

6.0

28-29

8.5

29-32

6.0

32-33

8.0

33-36

6.0

36-37

7.5

37-40

6.0

40-41

7.0

41-44

6.0

44-47

5.0

It took me 48 mins to get through this workout and I did 5 miles.  I felt great after the workout, my nose was not to runny :).

Bridge Pose…I was holding a 15 lb weight b/w my hips

I moved to the floor after my run and did a core workout with weights.  I always avoid doing arm strength training so I used a 15 lb weight with my core workout to try and get an arm workout in as well.

60 Russian Twist (holding 15 lb weight)

50 Regular Sit ups (holding weight over head)

40 Bridges (rest 15 lb weight b/w hips)

30 Leg lifts

1 min plank

I repeated this one more time and finished off my workout with a few yoga poses to stretch.  I like the forward bend, warrior 2, downward facing dog, childs pose, and runner’s pose.

After my workout I made a Smoothie.  I bought a bag of frozen tropical fruit at the grocery store recently and decided to try it out this morning.

Tasty & Refreshing

Tasty Tropical Smoothie

1 cup of water

1 cup of frozen tropical fruit (peaches, pineapple, strawberriers, cherries)

1 tsp cinnamon (optional) *

1 tsp ginger (optional) *

2 scoops Vanilla Soy Protein Powder

1 tbsp chai seeds

1 handful fresh spinach

*I add these spices because of there health benefits

I whipped up a quick lunch  to while I was enjoying my tropical smoothie.  I decided to make a big batch to last me through the rest of the week so I would not have to make lunch for the rest of the week.

I have been on a big kick with quinoa lately.  It is so filling and I love the texture.  I made a broccoli & cauliflower marinara quinoa mixture.

Broccoli & Cauliflower Marinara with Quinoa

1 cup uncooked quinoa

1 cup broccoli

1 cup cauliflower

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp italian seasoning

salt and pepper to taste

1 cup tomato sauce

Cook your quinoa and while it is cooking, steam your broccoli and cauliflower at the same time.  Once everything is cooked mix your quinoa, broccoli, cauliflower, tomato sauce, and all your seasonings together.  Then ta-do lunch for the rest of the week!  It is so quick and easy to make.

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Yoga Goals « SuperSonicSunflower

  2. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favourite reason seemed
    to be at the net the simplest factor to consider of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked at the same time as people consider concerns that they plainly don’t understand about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and outlined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , other people could take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

  3. Pingback: “Here Comes the Sun” « SuperSonicSunflower

  4. Pingback: Game of Thrones and favorite Ab workout | Supersonic Sunflower

Leave a Reply

