Thrift Store JackPot

Standard

So the day lead us to the Thrift Store.  I do not know if you have ever been to a thrift store but they are glorious, especially if you are on a budget.  I like to go and look for new crafts, laugh at random items, play with the toys :), scavenge for sweet deals on clothes, shoes, and accessories.

You never know what kind of day it is going to be when you go.  Some days every thing is picked over and there is not a lot to choose from.  But today we hit JACKPOT.  I found so many cool items and if Andrew had not come with me I would have been there for a lot longer looking around.  Luckily I have him to limit me haha.  Everything we got to day was under $3.00!

The first area we headed to was the coat section.  The weather is just starting to cool here now and I personally love coats because I am ALWAYS cold.  I found an awesome yellow rain coat and Andrew found an old school jacket.  This was perfect for me because I just threw out my old rain coat since there was a hole in it.  We then came across a cute professional black and white blazer for me. It is so hard for me to find a blazer were the sleeves are not to long and this one fit me perfect….so it was a keeper 🙂

“I will be singing in the rain wearing this”

nerding it up…I thought my nerd glasses were appropriate for this picture

Next Andrew headed to the electronics and I continued exploring.  Since I work in the health field I can always use new scrubs.  I am not usually lucky when it comes to finding scrubs my size in thrift stores.  They usually only have M to 3XL but no today 🙂  I found 2 cute tops in my size.

I love the bright fun colors

By this time Andrew had called me and told me to come to the electronics.  I assumed that he had found some old video game that he wanted…..he is a gamer.  To my surprise he had found a record player.  He had been wanting one for awhile so I was excited for him that he had found it.  It was not in the best condition, the needle was missing and they had marked it for $40.  We did not even know if it worked so we moved on but we kept it in the back of our heads.

While I continued to look through all the kitchen items, Andrew went to the mens clothes area to explore.  He found a really cool retro button up shirt.  I could not get him to take a picture in it (the jacket was all I could get out him to pose for) but it was plaid with blue white red and deep green squares to give you an idea.

At this point Andrew was getting tired and was ready to leave.  As we headed to the register with our handful of goods I tried slowing down our pace by looking through more things as we passed.  We walked passed an AMAZING pink russian fur hat.  It was only $2 so I felt that this was an easy decision.

bring it on winter

On our way we passed the toy section so I “accidentally” wandered in to the area :).  We found soooo many board games and puzzles.  We almost got CLUE but it was missing some of the pieces so we moved on.

Then there was a HUGE box of scarves and I love scarves!  They can dress up any outfit and add a boost of color at the same time.  I came across a fun yellow one that I can easily wear in the fall or as a summer scarf.  I then found a yellow, green, orange, red scarf.  I was only going to get one but then Andrew reminded me that they were only a $1.50 each so I got them both :).

We finally made it to the register I did not want to leave just yet but Andrew was tired of shopping (had been for a while now) and he was getting hungry.

This trip was a HUGE success and I hope your Saturday is going just as well as ours with whatever you are doing!

Have you ever been to a thrift store?  What has been your best find?  I’d love to here about your thrift store adventures.

Once we got home I decided to get started on dinner.  I made italian stuffed peppers….YUM!  I decided on this recipe because Andrews mother had just given us a few bell peppers from her garden and we had some italian sausages left over from last week that needed to get eaten.  I made half with quinoa stuffing(for me) and half with rice stuffing (for Andrew).

Italian Sausage stuffed Peppers

3 italian peppers

1/3 white onion, minced

1 garlic, minced

1 tsp cumin powder

salt and pepper to taste

3 bell peppers

fat free chicken broth

1/4 cup tomato sauce

1 cup rice

1 cup quinoa

shredded cheese to top off with

Preheat oven to 400.  Cook your rice and quinoa, I used half water and half chicken broth. Warm up olive oil in pan to medium heat then add in your sausage and chop up to fully cook.  You may either at the same time in a different pan or use the same pan, saute onion and garlic for about 2 minutes then add in with chopped sausage. Season with salt, pepper, and cumin.  Add your 1/4 cup of tomato sauce and 1/2 cup chicken broth. Mix well and allow to simmer for 5 mins.  Combine your cooked rice and 1/2 sauce together.  Combine your cooked quinoa and the half of the sauce together.

Cut the Bell peppers in half lengthwise and remove the seeds.  Place in a baking dish and begin spooning in your meat and rice/quinoa mixture into each bell pepper half (fill up as much as you can).  Pour the remainder of the chicken broth into the bottom of the baking dish and cover tightly with foil.  Bake for 35mins and you may top with cheese is desired.  I topped Andrews with shredded cheese and mine with hot sauce (makes everything better).

By the time we finished our peppers we were stuffed and ready for bed.  Andrew’s favorite movie was on, Star Wars, so we laid on the couch with our food baby’s till the end of the movie and then called it a night.

6 responses »

  1. I love thrift shopping too! I have found all kinds of things at thrift stores including my recent finds a couple of weeks ago – cast iron skillets – when I couldn’t find my own.

    • Hey Teresa! Thank you for stopping by my blog. My grandmother just game me an old cast iron skillet last week ironically. I have never used one before but I am loving and can not wait to cook more things in it. I learned how to clean them very well without a lot of elbow grease if they are rusted….let me know if you are interested in how I did this. But I checked out your blog too and I love the theme behind yours. I love to cook as well and can not wait to try out some of your recipes 🙂

      • I used ease fume free oven cleaner. I sprayed the entire skillet, stuck it in a plastic bag, tied it off and then let it sit outside for 3-4 days. After this all I had to do was rinse it off….i used a piece of foil crumbled up to really get a good scrub down but it only took about 3 mins to clean. Then I just re-seasoned and it was ready to be cooked with. I seasoned my olive oil only because I do not have crisco and it turned on fine. I hope this helps 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sunday Fun Day « SuperSonicSunflower

Leave a Reply

