Wine Bottle Lanterns

Standard

This morning I had my first Hot Yoga experience.  I have been hearing so much about it recently that I decided to give it a try.  It  gives you a deeper stretch then regular yoga since your muscles are so loose in the heat.  After my 8 mile run yesterday I needed a good stretch.

I picked out a beginner class at Arrichion Study called TOPAZ.  Topaz means fire or heat in Sanskrit.  The class had a series of 32 postures to help stretch and warm muscles and ligaments; improve balance, and increase strength and flexibility.

The woman who checked me in at the front desk was showing me around the study and told me that it was really important to stay in the room the whole time for my first class so my body can adjust.  I didn’t think anything of it, I mean seriously it can’t be That Hot?  As soon as I walked in the yoga room I started sweating.

Overall, I really enjoyed the class and I will definitely be going back for more.  This will be a great post long run workout for me to do from now on.  By the end of the class I was completely drenched.  I highly recommend in trying out a hot yoga class and bring a big towel with you..i made the mistake of only bringing a small hand towel, but ill be more prepared next time.

As you can see everyone else had BIG towels to place on top of there yoga mats…..minus me. I was sliding all over the place.

After Hot Yoga I came back and took Chewbacca for a little run/walk.  He only made it about 1/2 mile.  It is still too hot for the little guy.  I can not wait for fall so he can enjoy being outside again. 🙂

Poor little guy was exhausted.

After showering and getting some delicious burgers at Earth fare (every sunday they have burgers for only $2..its a tradition for me and andrew to go whenever we are in town) I decided to tackle some of the items on my to do list.

I have been working little by little on my wine bottle lanterns and finally finished them today!  I am so excited to finally hang them up.  It was a fun craft to take on and look great on our back porch.

First, I needed to remove the bottom of my bottles.  I found a trick off pinterest that works great!  Me and Andrew had a lot of fun doing this, we just thought it was so cool how it just popped off.

Once that was finished I had to remove the labels from the bottle.  This was a bit tricky to get all the sticky off.  I found that by spreading a little olive oil over the sticky area and allowing it to sit for a few hours, made it a lot easier to remove.

Next, was assembling my hanger together.   I picked out some bendable wire from Michael’s craft store (I love this place!).  I chose a brassy color but you can pick whatever you like best.  First, you will need the cap to bottle beer and punch a whole through the center of it.  Scissors worked fine for me.  This will prevent the wire from coming out of the top of you bottle.

Then, I cut a length of 23 ins and looped one end through the whole in my bottle cap and wrapped it around a few times to secure it.  As seen in the picture.

To hold the candle, I cut another piece of wire that is approx. 11 ins long.  I made out a circle out a one end that was big enough to fit around the candle and looped the other end through whole in bottle cap and then wrapped it around a few times to secure it.  The finished product should like the image below.

Now you will stick your wire creation through the bottom of your wine bottle so that the loop is coming out of the top.  And VOLA!

Now it is time to get ready for My Morning Jacket Concert!  🙂  Have a great rest to your Sunday!

3 responses »

  1. You really make it seem so easy along with your presentation however I to find this matter to be actually something which I believe I’d by no means understand. It sort of feels too complicated and very vast for me. I’m looking ahead in your next submit, I’ll attempt to get the hold of it!

  2. Pingback: Yoga lanterns | Selcycer

  3. Pingback: Back with More Crafts & Recipes to Share « SuperSonicSunflower

Leave a Reply

