Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

Standard

This morning I did my best to sleep in and I made it till 8:45 till Chewbacca woke me up.

I let Andrew sleep in while I went on an 8 mile.  The weather was perfect for a long run today, it was windy and the sky was cast over.  The arch in my right foot started to cramp up during my last mile but I managed to make it home in 1 hour and 10 mins.

I decided on pancakes this morning for breakfast to start off my 5 day vacation! 🙂  I LOVE this pancake recipe.  The pancakes are so soft, moist and good for you!  They are made without any butter or sugar but they taste just like oatmeal cookies.  I surprised Andrew with chocolate chips in his pancakes.  I’m not a big fan of sweets for breakfast so I stuck with the original recipe for myself.

Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

-1 very ripe banana

-1 tsp baking powder

-1 flax egg (1 tbsp flaxseed meal + 2.5 tbsp water)

-1/2 tsp vanilla extract

-1 tbsp cinnamon

-1 tbsp almond butter

-1 tbsp canola oil

-3 tbsp almond milk

-1/2 cup rolled oats

-1/4 cup whole wheat or unbleached flour

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat a skillet to medium heat.

Prepare flax egg by mixing flaxseed meal and water and letting set for 3-5 mins.

Mash your very ripe banana with baking powder.

Add flax egg, oil, salt, vanilla, cinnamon, almond butter, and almond milk and stir.

Stir in oats and flour until just combined.

Scoop 1/4 cup onto lightly greased griddle. (sprinkle chocolate chips on top if you want them to be sweeter)

Cook for 2-4 mins on each side – until golden brown.

My Pancakes with Blackberry Jam…YUM

Should Yield 5-6 small pancakes.

[pinterest]

Andrew’s Chocolate Chip Pancake with syrup drizzled on top

Leave a Reply

